Health and Social Care

Students can choose to study Health and Social Care as they enter KS4 and KS5. They learn about the work of Health, Social and Early Year’s services/ settings and the people that work within those settings.

Key Stage 4 (Year 10 and Future KS4 Cohorts)

Edexcel BTEC Level 2 First Award in Health and Social Care.

The qualification comprises two core and two optional units, each worth 25% of the total available marks. One of the core units (Human Lifespan Development) is assessed through a one hour written examination, set and marked by Edexcel. The remaining three units are assessed through set tasks, internally marked, and moderated by Edexcel

Key Stage 4 (Current Year 11)

Health and Social Care (GCSE).

Specification: AQA 4822 (48201 Exam worth 40% of the overall grade and 48202 Controlled Assessment worth 60% of the overall grade).

Full details in KS4 brochure

Key Stage 5 (Sixth Form - Year 12 and Future KS5 Cohorts)

Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care.

Key Stage 5 (Sixth Form - Current Year 13)

Examination board: AQA

A2 2821- HSC06 - Coursework Unit worth 50% of the overall grade.

HSC10 - Diagnosis, Treatment and Preventative Strategies - Examined Unit worth 50% of the overall grade.

Full details in Sixth Form brochure

Departmental Team

Ms S Rees (Head of Department)
Miss S Edens