Key Stage 4 (Years 10 & 11)

Specification: OCR GCSE in Computer Science (QN: 601/8355/X)

The qualification is comprised of three components:

Component 1: Computer systems (1½ hour written examination, worth 40% of the GCSE).

Component 2: Computational thinking, algorithms and programming (1½ hour written examination, worth 40% of the GCSE).

Component 3: Programming project (internally assessed and externally moderated, worth 20% of the GCSE).

Specification: Edexcel BTEC Level 1 / Level 2 First Award in Information and Creative Technology (600/4789/6)

The qualification comprises two core and two optional units, each worth 25% of the total available marks.  One of the core units (The Online World) is assessed through a one hour online test, set and marked by Edexcel.  The remaining three units are assessed through set tasks, internally marked, and moderated by Edexcel.

For more information about these course please see the Key Stage 4 curriculum brochure.

Full details in KS4 brochure

Key Stage 5 (Sixth Form)

Specification: Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology (QN: 601/7575/8)

Over the two years you will complete four units:

Unit 1:   Information Technology Systems

Unit 2:   Creating Systems to Manage Information

Unit 3:   Using Social Media in Business

Unit 6:   Website Development

Units 1 and 2 are externally assessed set tasks – you will take the assessment during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a vocational task.

Units 3 and 6 are internally assessed and externally verified set assignments.

Full details in Sixth Form brochure

Departmental Team

Mr M Heys (Subject Leader)
Mr M Flanagan